Library Home: Marketing Research: Research

Open Sources

Rand Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a non-profit research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center is attached to Cornell University, it serves "as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world."

About Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 1,000 business publications, some titles date back to 1985.

When searching the database consider the following keyword phrases:

Business Forecasting; Market Research; Industry Profile
Don't use just the word "Marketing," it is too broad, what type of marketing are you researching? for example: Green Marketing; Cost per click; etc
When searching Business Source Complete (or any of the library databases) for marketing scholarship (i.e. journal articles) consider using the methodology you are researching as one of the keywords in your search (e.g. Focus Groups; Surveys; Interviews; Field Experiment; etc.)

In addition to business scholarship (journals such as Harvard Business Review or Public Opinion Quarterly) the database is rich with other resources to support business research - company profiles; Industry reports; SWOT analyses; etc.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
Business Source Complete (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 1,000 business publications, some titles date back to 1985.
Regional Business News (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for regional business publications, it incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

News & Sources: Researching Trends

ClickZ
Comprehensive news source about marketing on all platforms including digital and social media marketing.
e-Commerce Marketing News
From e-commerce Times, with recent articles related to e-marketing.
MC
"MarketingCharts is your one-stop source for marketing data, graphics and analyses, serving the needs of today’s data-driven marketer."
Trendwatching.com
"... opinionated & independent trend agency, scans the globe for the most promising consumer trends, insights & related hands-on business ideas." trendwatching.com's global network of spotters, has hundreds of members in 120+ countries worldwide."
World Future Society
"The World Future Society is a nonprofit, nonpartisan scientific and educational association... focused on how social and technological developments are shaping the future." Founded in 1966.