Library Home: West Virginia Research: WV Books & Articles

Library's Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find what books, DVDs, or subscriptions are available at Booth Library.

West Virginia History

The journal West Virginia History: A Journal of Regional Studies is available through the database Jstor

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of journal scholarship, as well as books and primary resources.

Books

Booth Library owns a wealth of material about West Virginia, it is available throughout all of the library collections. If you want to start your research by browsing books about West Virginia History - on the library's third floor go to the following book range:

F 236.A17 - F 241.C56

The Library has more on West Virginia than is available at the range of books listed above. Use the Library Catalog to find additional books on various topics about West Virginia. Consider the following keywords: Civil War; Coal; Fiction; History; Law, Mining; Politics; Unions

Below is an example from the Library Catalog, use West Virginia as one search term and a second search term related to your research.

Scholarship

Guide to the study of West Virginia history by Charles Shelter
Call Number: Z 1349 .S45 (1st floor)
Publication Date: 1960
"...the aim (of this book) has been to provide a wide range of access points into the history of the state in publications that are most generally available." -- Cunningham. The Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine, Volume 44, Number 1, March 1961.

LIBRARY DATABASES

For locating scholarship on West Virginia or research about the issues impacting WV use the Library databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of journal scholarship, as well as books and primary resources.
Newspaper Source Plus (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 60 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.