Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are researching an individual or a family name you might search for the records associated with that person's life, marriage certificates, land purchases, etc. Here are four suggestions:
I. Censuses: In using the census to research WV citizens remember, ancestors born before 1863 listed Virginia as their birthplace. Schedules are missing for Virginia’s first two US censuses in 1790 and 1800, and are incomplete for 1810. If you need a historical census that is not available online, contact a large library such as ...
Virginia State Archives and Libraries
West Virginia Archives & History
II. Land: Before and after West Virginia statehood, land transactions are generally recorded in county courthouses.
III. Military Records
Civil War Soldiers - WV (courtesy West Virginia State Archives)
Contact the WV Archives with other questions or requests for information on military records.
IV. Vital Research Records Project (VRRP)
VRRP places WV Birth, Death, and Marriage certificates on-line. Users can search the records and view scanned images of the original records. Records begin in 1917.
Guide to the study of West Virginia history by
Call Number: Z 1349 .S45 (1st floor)
Publication Date: 1960
"...the aim (of this book) has been to provide a wide range of access points into the history of the state in publications that are most generally available." -- Cunningham. The Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine, Volume 44, Number 1, March 1961.
For locating scholarship on West Virginia or research about the issues impacting WV use the Library databases.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
JSTOR is an archive of journal scholarship, as well as books and primary resources.
Newspaper Source Plus (by EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers, including the Charleston Gazette and the Dominion Post (Morgantown).