Library Home: Elkins High School Research: Home

Elkins High provides access to research databases (via the company EBSCO) if you are unsure where these databases are located, consult with your Teacher.
You also have access to books (both physical & eBooks) through Elkins Public Library. Your public library card provides access to all 144 libraries within the WV Library Network including the WV Info Depot which provides free quality databases to all WV citizens. You only need a public library card!
With your public library card you can also utilize Libby, an app that allows you to borrow free eBooks, digital audiobooks, and magazines from your library.

.

To thoroughly research a topic, consider the following keywords: Debate, Issues, Challenges, Controversy, Causes, Solutions.

To understand your topic on a substantial level consider searching your library databases for the following sources:

Newspapers - especially for current events. Read articles written by guest commentators, usually they are specialists on a trending topic.
Magazine articles - will look at a topic through the lens of economics, politics, and popular culture.
If an understanding of your topic includes understanding the thinking of a specific person, look for books written by that person or an authorized biography. These books will review their ideas or opinions of an event or issue, at the time the event was unfolding.

Pro/Con Sources

ProCon.org
Content by Encyclopedia Britannica. "... the pro and con arguments to debatable issues."
Rand Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges...
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
World Public Opinion
Content is managed by the School of Public Policy, University of MD. Presents public opinion from around the world on international issues.

Congressional Digest

Congressional Digest is an excellent pro/con resource on topics currently being debated in Congress. Students at Elkins High have access to databases from the company EBSCO. All of the EBSCO search interface look the same. Here is a snapshot from one of D&E's EBSCO databases, called Academic Search Complete. You can click on Publications and search for Congressional Digest (see illustration below) or you can use "Congressional Digest" as a search phrase.

Searching the database for a specific magazine title: