Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Basic Collection
"The titles listed on the right are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government."
~ FDLP Basic Collection.
About Essential Collection
In the mid-1990s depository libraries collaborated with the FDLP on a list of titles that were deemed essential to retain in print form (a.k.a. tangable). It was called The Essential List. As government agencies transitioned their publications from print to electronic, ensuring the continuation of the Essential List became difficult.
As of September 2019...
"During the transition to a more electronic FDLP, the (Essential) list reflected GPO’s commitment to distribute certain titles in tangible (in print) format indefinitely. Over time, as agencies transitioned more publications to online-only format, GPO could no longer guarantee tangible printing and distribution of all resources on the list. As a result, the Essential Titles list no longer served its intended purpose.
Libraries looking for key publications that support the public’s right to know about the workings and essential activities of the U.S. Government should refer to the FDLP Basic Collection." Here is the full memo.
Call Number: GS 1.52/2:
Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Ben's guide to the U.S. Government
Call Number: GP 3.39:
Presents educational content for students, parents, and educators on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics.
Budget of the United States Government
Call Number: PREX 2.8:
Publication Date: 1996 - Current
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), this is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Call Number: AE 2.106/3:
Publication Date: 1996 - Current
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Call Number: AE 2.109/2:
Publication Date: 1992 - Current
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Materials include proclamations, executive orders, speeches, statements regarding bill signings and vetoes, nominations and appointments, acts approved by the President, and press releases.
Call Number: LC 1.54/2-3:
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Digest (Daily Ed.)
Call Number: X 1.1/A:
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session.
Congressional Directory (Official)
Call Number: Y 4.P 93/1:1/
Publication Date: 1997 - Current
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
Call Number: Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/
Publication Date: 1995 - Current (Plus link to archive to 1948)
Provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
Call Number: PREX 1.30:
Publication Date: 1995 - Current
An annual report issued by the Executive Office of the President and the Council of Economic Advisors, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data
Call Number: C 3.300/2:
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
Call Number: AE 2.106:
Publication Date: 1936 - Current
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders.
Call Number: GP 3.43/2:
A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Call Number: L 2.3/4:
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States.
United States Code
Call Number: Y 1.2/5:
Publication Date: 1994 - Current
The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
United States Government Manual
Call Number: AE 2.108/2:
Publication Date: 1935 - Current
The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Reports
Call Number: JU 6.8:
Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large
Call Number: AE 2.111:
Publication Date: Starting with 1951
Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
Call Number: GS 1.40:
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online.