Library Home: Data & Statistics: Data/info resources by subject

Google

Google Dataset Search
A Google service for anyone looking to track down data online, with a focus on government and social science data.

By Subject - Open Access Sites

Business & Economics

Annual Economic Surveys (U.S. Census Bureau): Annual economic surveys cover selected sectors of the U.S. economy and feature industry and geographic statistics that supplement those published in the economic census.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA): prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy.

Monthly Labor Review: Provides descriptions and data on labor statistics covering employment, unemployment, hours, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes, wages and work stoppages.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Research Guide: Created at Booth Library this research guide examines sources used in the study of Criminal Justice.

Ecology

EPA data finder: This site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.

ESP Data Registry: The data sets registered here are associated with articles published in the journals of the Ecological Society of America. See individual registry entries for citation information as well as usage rights.

Ecological Data Wiki: The site is as a source for identifying ecological datasets and quickly figuring out the best ways to use them. Just think of it as the Wikipedia of ecology data.

Nat'l Phenology Network: Phenology data available for download, explore through visualizations, and search for other phenology data sets.

VertNet: takes four classic vertebrate networks (FishNet, MaNIS, HerpNET, ORNIS), to combine them into a single integrated data portal.

Education

Fast Facts about Education (IES): Quick statistical information on a variety of US education topics, with links to supporting studies. Updated regularly.

UNESCO Education Databases: Education data from UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.

National Center for Education Statistics: National data on schools, enrollment, and outcomes for all levels of education; on-line data is located under two sections of the main menu: Encyclopedia of ED Stats and Survey and Program Areas and includes elementary, secondary, and higher education statistics; library, literacy, and international statistics. Also includes the Schools Staffing Survey and Integrated Post-Secondary Education Survey, codebooks and press releases.

Family & Health

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention: Data & Statistics

Centers for Disease Control - Health Statistics
Nat'l health care surveys; vital statistics; public use data (health), etc.

Global Health Observatory (WHO)
Provides access to over 50 data sets from the World Health Organization (WHO) via an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States.

National Survey of Family Growth (CDC)

National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, and infertility.

OECD Health Statistics

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Here is their health statistics page

International Sources

CIA World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Demographic Yearbooks (United Nations)

"...collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics... population size and composition, additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others."

International Statistical Agencies (will return soon)
Listing of country statistical agencies provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Public Opinion

World Values Survey (WVS): is a global research project that explores people’s values and beliefs, their stability or change over time and their impact on social and political development of the societies in different countries of the world.

Science

National Science Foundation's Science and Engineering Statistics: Publications, data, and analysis about science and engineering resources in the US.

NOAA National Climatic Data Center (NCDC): is the world's largest repository of weather and climate data and information. Data sources are as varied as handwritten observations to satellite and radar imagery less than an hour old.

West Virginia

WVU’s Bureau of Business and Economic Research (BBER)

"Since the 1940s, the BBER’s mission has been to serve the people of West Virginia by providing the state’s business and policymaking communities with reliable data..."

WV Election Results Center

"The official site for election results and the West Virginia Secretary of State's office."