Library Home: Poetry: Research

Books about poetry

Listen to the Poet: Writing, Performance, and Community in Youth Spoken Word Poetry by Wendy R. Williams
Call Number: eBook, 2018
Listen to the Poet investigates two Arizona spoken word poetry groups―a community group and a high school club―that are both part of the same youth organization. Exploring the writing lives and poetry of several members, Wendy R. Williams takes readers inside a writing workshop and poetry slam and reveals that schools have much to learn about writing, performance, community, and authorship from groups like these and from youth writers themselves.
Reading Poetry by Peter Barry
Call Number: eBook
Witty, direct and articulate, Peter Barry illustrates the key elements of poetry at work, covering many different kinds of verse, from traditional forms to innovative versions of the art, such as 'concrete' poetry, minimalism and word-free poems.
Science in modern poetry: New directions by John Holmes
Call Number: eBook
This is the first collection of essays to focus specifically on what poets in the 20th and 21st centuries have made of the scientific developments going on around them.
Shakespeare Survey
Call Number: PR2888 .C3 (1st floor)
A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.

Databases for researching poetry

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
eWV: West Virginia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of journal scholarship, as well as books and primary resources.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary by Edmund S. Weiner (Editor); John Simpson (Editor)

Oxford English Dictionary
Reference Collection (Entrance Level):
PE 1625.O87 1989
Supplement to the Oxford English Dictionary
General Collection (1st floor):
PE 1625.N53 1986

Booth Library owns the print version of the Oxford English Dictionary, sometimes referred to by its initials OED.

"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books."

Poetry: Research

Books about poetry

See Also ...

Databases for researching poetry

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)