Resources - Legislative Research - U.S. - Library Home at Davis & Elkins College

Library Databases

Databases A-Z
A list of all 35 research databases.

SELECTED DATABASES:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Library's Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find what resources the Library owns - books, government documents, subscriptions, etc.
Points of View Reference Center (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Other Resources

Congressional Digest by Congressional Digest Corp.
Call Number: If off campus - login required
Publication Date: 1921-Current
Reports on pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration.
FDsys
Portal for government, including congressional sources.

GAO: Government Accountability Office
"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars."

Pew Research Center
Call Number: Open Source
Pew Research Center is a fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Pew Research conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Rand Corporation
Call Number: Open Source
Publication Date: Current
"The RAND Corporation is a non-profit research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges."

U.S. Government

The Federal Register
"The daily journal of the U.S. Federal Government."

____________

The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress.

United States. (1845). U.S. statutes at large: Vols. 1-18 (1789-1875). Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O

United States. (1848). U.S. statutes at large: Vols. 65-125 (1951-2011). Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O.

Legislative Proposals (1993-Current)

"Congressional bills are legislative proposals from the House of Representatives and Senate within the United States Congress. There are eight different types of bills..." [More] for a list of bills.

Check out Congress.gov for a more easily searchable site...

Congress.gov
"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."

Legislative Research - U.S.: Resources

Library Databases

Other Resources

U.S. Government

Legislative Proposals (1993-Current)