Library Home: Christian Studies: Reference Titles

eBooks - Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Religions of the World by J. Gordon Melton (Editor); Martin Baumann (Editor)
Call Number: eBook - GVRL
Publication Date: 2010-09-21
This six-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, emphasizing larger religious communities without neglecting the world's smaller religious outposts. There is a bibliography for each entry

Subject Headings

The library resources (the library catalog and research databases) use subject headings to (1) organize sources and (2) to pull related sources together. Subject Headings to consider when researching Christian topics include:

Bible Commentaries

Bible -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.

Biblical Studies

Christian Antiquities

Exegesis

Theology

Print Reference Sources

The Reference Collection is on the Entrance Level of Booth Library across from the Information Desk.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: Reference BS 440.A54 1992 (Entrance Level)
This six volume dictionary offers the comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship.
The Interpreter's Bible : the Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised standard versions with general articles and introduction, exegesis, exposition for each book of the Bible by George A. Buttrick
Call Number: Information Desk
Publication Date: 1952
A reference that provides a comprehensive Bible commentary that focuses on the vast findings of modern scholarship exploring the meaning of every bible passage. The Interpreter's Bible offers critically sound biblical interpretations.
The New Interpreter's Bible by Leander E. Keck (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BS 1235.3 .N48 1994 (Entrance Level)
Update of 1952 edition.
The NRSV Concordance by John R. Kohlenberger
Call Number: Ref BS 425.K645 1991
A Concordance is an alphabetical listing of the words present in a specific text (e.g. Bible Concordance). With each listed word are the citations for the passages identifying where that word is located within the text.

Campus Librarian

Mary Jo DeJoice

Email Me

Contact:

304.637.1359 | dejoicem@dewv.edu

Subjects: About Research, About Writing & Presenting Research, English & Literature, Faculty Info, Information Fluency, Library Science, Nursing