Library Home: Researching Race: Research

Quick Definition: Critical Race Theory

Curry, Tommy. "Critical race theory". Encyclopedia Britannica, https://www.britannica.com/topic/critical-race-theory.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.
American Civil War Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
"The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war..."
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides access to the most comprehensive set of nursing & allied heath resources.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Library's Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find what books, DVDs, or subscriptions are available at Booth Library.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
"North American Women’s Letters and Diaries is the largest electronic collection of women’s diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it presents the personal experiences of hundreds of women."
Newspaper Source Plus (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 60 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Selected Sources Available At Booth

Critical Race Theory by Richard Delgado; Jean Stefancic
Call Number: eBook, 2001
In 2001, Richard Delgado and Jean Stefancic published their definitive Critical Race Theory, a compact introduction to the field that explained, in straightforward language, the origins, principal themes, leading voices, and new directions of this important movement in legal thought.
The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin
Call Number: E 185.61 .B195 1967 (3rd floor)
At once a powerful evocation of James Baldwin's early life in Harlem and a disturbing examination of the consequences of racial injustice, the book is an intensely personal and provocative document. It consists of two ‘letters,' written on the occasion of the centennial of the Emancipation Proclamation, that exhort Americans, both Black and White, to attack the terrible legacy of racism.
Indigenous Peoples of North America by Robert J. Muckle
Call Number: eBook, 2012
Most books dealing with North American Indigenous peoples are exhaustive in coverage. They provide in-depth discussion of various culture areas which, while valuable, sometimes means that the big picture context is lost. This book offers a corrective to that trend by providing a concise, thematic overview of the key issues facing Indigenous peoples in North America, from prehistory to the present. It integrates a culture area analysis within a thematic approach, covering archaeology, traditional lifeways, the colonial era, and contemporary Indigenous culture. Muckle also explores the history of the relationship between Indigenous peoples and anthropologists with rigor and honesty. The result is a remarkably comprehensive book that provides a strong grounding for understanding Indigenous cultures in North America.
The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: eBook (2020)
This tenth-anniversary edition of the iconic bestseller--"one of the most influential books of the past 20 years," according to the Chronicle of Higher Education--with a new preface by the author. The book has spawned criminal justice reform activists and organizations motivated by Michelle Alexander's unforgettable argument that "we have not ended racial caste in America; we have merely redesigned it." As the Birmingham News proclaimed, it is "undoubtedly the most important book published in this century about the U.S."
Stamped from the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi
Call Number: E 185.61 .K358 2016 (3rd floor)
The National Book Award winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society.