Library Home: Welcome to Booth Library: Research in a hurry!

Need a database that will provide a...

Quick summary or researching a new subject, use:

eWV: West Virginia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Points of View Reference Center (by EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Books or Essays Within Books

Search the Library Catalog for books, including books of essays.

Here are 2 sample searches you can try:
Essays and Railroads
Anthology and Appalachia

Articles on a Current Event or General Topic

Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text of more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are included.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with some dating back to 1975. Additionally, it contains nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
TopicSearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics being discussed today.

Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources designed to support college research.

EBSCOhost
Discipline-specific databases (health, business, education, etc.).
JSTOR
JSTOR (or journal storage) is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books and primary sources.

Reviews & Criticisms

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of journal scholarship, as well as books and primary resources.

Statistical Information

Data & Statistics
D&E Research Guide designed to provide access to and information about data and statistics.

Pew Research Center
A "fact tank" that provides information and data sets on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

How do databases help you?

Library databases contain reputable published works such as journal or newspaper articles, books, government reports, etc.

But what database do you use to find specific information?

<<< To find a database for a specific type of assignment, look left.

The Booth Library catalog is HERE!

List of all of the Library's research databases are HERE!

.

Library grits blog by Dianne McKenzie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial 3.0 Unported License.